Bigul (Bonanza)SEBI INZ000212137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹250/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹18/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)SEBI INZ000200137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.20%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Bigul (Bonanza) | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹14.16 less at Bigul (Bonanza); a DP charge is not published | ₹35.40 | ₹35.40 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹568.76 less at Bigul (Bonanza); a DP charge is not published | ₹35.40 | ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹169.92 less at Bigul (Bonanza); a DP charge is not published | ₹424.80 | ₹424.80 brokerage; DP charge not published |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹18 per order at Bigul (Bonanza), 0.20% at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST at Bigul (Bonanza), not stated at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
- Mainboard IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes, on Kotak Neo with UPI at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
- SME IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO… at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo).
The same at both: account opening and Demat maintenance (AMC).
Bigul (Bonanza) vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo): charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 on the Trade Free plan (₹99 one time on Trade Free Youth, for under 30s) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST; basic services demat accounts: ₹0 up to ₹4 lakh | ₹0 for a basic services demat account (BSDA) with holdings up to ₹4 lakh; other AMC not stated on the pricing page |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, on Kotak Neo with UPI |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes. Kotak Neo says SME IPOs can be applied for in its current IPO section with UPI |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹18 per order | 0.20% (Trade Free Pro: 0.10%; Trade Free Youth: ₹0) |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000212137 | INZ000200137 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) pages.
Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) strengths and things worth checking
Bigul (Bonanza)
Strengths
- Flat ₹18
- DP charge with GST shown
Worth checking
- Pledge charge
₹118 per ISIN per request.
- IPO access not stated
The pricing page does not mention IPOs.
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
Strengths
- ₹10 intraday and F&O
- SME IPOs
- Lower MTF on Pro
Worth checking
- Delivery is a percentage
0.20% on the default plan with no cap stated: ₹30 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- DP charge and AMC not on the pricing page
Check them before you sell IPO shares.
Brokerage calculator: Bigul (Bonanza) vs Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with Bigul (Bonanza) or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo), or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Bigul (Bonanza) or Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹14.16 less at Bigul (Bonanza) (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Bigul (Bonanza) ₹35.40, Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) ₹590.00 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) be over a year?
Not in full, because Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹169.92 less at Bigul (Bonanza) (our calculation).
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo)?
Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) lets you apply for SME IPOs; Bigul (Bonanza) does not say so on the pages we checked.
What brokerage do Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹21.24 at Bigul (Bonanza) and ₹35.40 at Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) (our calculation from their published rates).
What DP charge do Bigul (Bonanza) and Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) take when I sell IPO shares?
For one sale of ₹15,000, with GST: ₹14.16 at Bigul (Bonanza); Kotak Securities (Kotak Neo) does not publish it (our calculation). It is charged on each sale from your demat account.