SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 cap
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ZerodhaSEBI INZ000031633
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹15.34Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where SAMCO and Zerodha differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | SAMCO | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹31.86 less at Zerodha | ₹47.20 | ₹15.34 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹31.86 less at Zerodha | ₹47.20 | ₹15.34 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹382.32 less at Zerodha | ₹566.40 | ₹184.08 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO, Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus… at Zerodha.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO, ₹0 at Zerodha.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO, ₹13 plus GST per scrip at Zerodha.
- SME IPOs: not stated at SAMCO, Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and… at Zerodha.
The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.
SAMCO vs Zerodha: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between SAMCO and Zerodha. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | SAMCO | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 for individual accounts (₹500 for NRI, partnership, LLP and corporate accounts) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals | Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus GST, charged quarterly |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes | Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and no net banking fallback if the UPI payment fails |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20) | ₹0 |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside | ₹13 plus GST per scrip (₹3.50 CDSL, ₹9.50 Zerodha); ₹15.34 with GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000002535 | INZ000031633 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the SAMCO and Zerodha pages.
SAMCO and Zerodha strengths and things worth checking
SAMCO
Strengths
- ₹20 cap
Worth checking
- Two delivery rates on one page
The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.
- AMC after year one
₹400 plus taxes a year.
- Dealer orders
₹50 plus taxes per order.
Zerodha
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Lower DP charge
- SME IPOs on both exchanges
Worth checking
- AMC after the first year
₹300 a year plus GST for a regular demat account.
- SME IPO limits
One bid per SME IPO, and if the UPI payment fails you cannot apply by net banking.
- Dealer orders cost extra
₹50 per order through call and trade or auto square-off.
Brokerage calculator: SAMCO vs Zerodha
| Charge | SAMCO | Zerodha |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what SAMCO and Zerodha would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Zerodha
- Groww vs Zerodha
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Upstox vs Zerodha
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Zerodha
- Sahi vs Zerodha
Every comparison with SAMCO or Zerodha, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, SAMCO or Zerodha?
Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹15.34 in broker charges at Zerodha and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: SAMCO ₹47.20, Zerodha ₹15.34 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between SAMCO and Zerodha be over a year?
If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Zerodha costs ₹382.32 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals; Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
Can I apply for SME IPOs on SAMCO and Zerodha?
Zerodha lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at SAMCO and Zerodha?
SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals. Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
What brokerage do SAMCO and Zerodha charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at SAMCO and ₹0.00 at Zerodha (our calculation from their published rates).