ProStocksSEBI INZ000048660
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 (₹1,000 deposit)
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹23.60Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ZerodhaSEBI INZ000031633
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹15.34Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where ProStocks and Zerodha differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | ProStocks | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹8.26 less at Zerodha | ₹23.60 | ₹15.34 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹8.26 less at Zerodha | ₹23.60 | ₹15.34 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹99.12 less at Zerodha | ₹283.20 | ₹184.08 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Account opening: No fee listed at ProStocks, ₹0 for individual accounts at Zerodha.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): None at ProStocks, Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus… at Zerodha.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST at ProStocks, ₹13 plus GST per scrip at Zerodha.
- Mainboard IPOs: not stated at ProStocks, Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate at Zerodha.
- SME IPOs: not stated at ProStocks, Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and… at Zerodha.
The same at both: equity delivery brokerage.
ProStocks vs Zerodha: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between ProStocks and Zerodha. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | ProStocks | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | No fee listed (online application) | ₹0 for individual accounts (₹500 for NRI, partnership, LLP and corporate accounts) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | None; ₹1,000 refundable demat deposit | Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus GST, charged quarterly |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and no net banking fallback if the UPI payment fails |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹0 (flat fee plan) | ₹0 |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST | ₹13 plus GST per scrip (₹3.50 CDSL, ₹9.50 Zerodha); ₹15.34 with GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000048660 | INZ000031633 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ProStocks and Zerodha pages.
ProStocks and Zerodha strengths and things worth checking
ProStocks
Strengths
- ₹0 delivery brokerage
- No AMC
- Cheap dealer orders
Worth checking
- Refundable deposit
₹1,000 demat deposit.
- IPO access not stated
The pricing page does not mention IPO applications.
Zerodha
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Lower DP charge
- SME IPOs on both exchanges
Worth checking
- AMC after the first year
₹300 a year plus GST for a regular demat account.
- SME IPO limits
One bid per SME IPO, and if the UPI payment fails you cannot apply by net banking.
- Dealer orders cost extra
₹50 per order through call and trade or auto square-off.
Brokerage calculator: ProStocks vs Zerodha
| Charge | ProStocks | Zerodha |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ProStocks and Zerodha would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Zerodha
- Groww vs Zerodha
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Upstox vs Zerodha
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Zerodha
- Sahi vs Zerodha
Every comparison with ProStocks or Zerodha, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ProStocks or Zerodha?
Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹15.34 in broker charges at Zerodha and ₹23.60 at ProStocks (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ProStocks ₹23.60, Zerodha ₹15.34 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between ProStocks and Zerodha be over a year?
If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Zerodha costs ₹99.12 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: ProStocks: None; Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
Can I apply for SME IPOs on ProStocks and Zerodha?
Zerodha lets you apply for SME IPOs; ProStocks does not say so on the pages we checked.
Is account opening free at ProStocks and Zerodha?
ProStocks: No fee listed. Zerodha: ₹0 for individual accounts.
What is the demat AMC at ProStocks and Zerodha?
ProStocks: None. Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….