Live ·

ProStocks vs SAMCO for IPO investors

ProStocks vs SAMCO for IPO investors: 6 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹23.60 in broker charges at ProStocks and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ProStocksSEBI INZ000048660

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 (₹1,000 deposit)
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹23.60Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 cap
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where ProStocks and SAMCO differ

6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ProStocksSAMCO
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹23.60 less at ProStocks₹23.60₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹23.60 less at ProStocks₹23.60₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹283.20 less at ProStocks₹283.20₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: No fee listed at ProStocks, ₹0 at SAMCO.
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): None at ProStocks, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹0 at ProStocks, ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST at ProStocks, ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.
  • Mainboard IPOs: not stated at ProStocks, Yes at SAMCO.

The same at both: sME IPOs.

ProStocks vs SAMCO: charges side by side

Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between ProStocks and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeProStocksSAMCO
Open an account
Account openingNo fee listed (online application)₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)None; ₹1,000 refundable demat deposit₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹0 (flat fee plan)₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20)
DP charge on selling shares₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000048660INZ000002535

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the ProStocks and SAMCO pages.

ProStocks and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking

ProStocks

Strengths

  • ₹0 delivery brokerage
  • No AMC
  • Cheap dealer orders

Worth checking

  • Refundable deposit

    ₹1,000 demat deposit.

  • IPO access not stated

    The pricing page does not mention IPO applications.

More on ProStocks

SAMCO

Strengths

  • ₹20 cap

Worth checking

  • Two delivery rates on one page

    The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.

  • AMC after year one

    ₹400 plus taxes a year.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹50 plus taxes per order.

More on SAMCO

Brokerage calculator: ProStocks vs SAMCO

ChargeProStocksSAMCO

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what ProStocks and SAMCO would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with ProStocks or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, ProStocks or SAMCO?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹23.60 in broker charges at ProStocks and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: ProStocks ₹23.60, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between ProStocks and SAMCO be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, ProStocks costs ₹283.20 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: ProStocks: None; SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on ProStocks and SAMCO?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

Is account opening free at ProStocks and SAMCO?

ProStocks: No fee listed. SAMCO: ₹0.

What is the demat AMC at ProStocks and SAMCO?

ProStocks: None. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.