HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)SEBI INZ000186937
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹240/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 or 2.5%, lower
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹20 cap
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO differ
3 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) | SAMCO |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Same at both | ₹47.20 | ₹47.20 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Same at both | ₹47.20 | ₹47.20 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldSame at both | ₹566.40 | ₹566.40 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹20 per scrip at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.
- SME IPOs: Yes. HDFC Sky says you can apply for SME IPOs in one click at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), not stated at SAMCO.
The same at both: account opening, Equity delivery brokerage and Mainboard IPOs.
HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs SAMCO: charges side by side
Differs 3 of 7 charges differ between HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) | SAMCO |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | Free | ₹0 |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST (basic services demat accounts under ₹50,000: ₹0) | ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, on HDFC Sky | Yes |
| SME IPOs | Yes. HDFC Sky says you can apply for SME IPOs in one click | Not stated on the pages we checked |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹20 or 2.5% per order, whichever is lower | ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20) |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹20 per scrip (the support page does not say whether GST is extra; we add 18% in our calculation) | ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000186937 | INZ000002535 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO pages.
HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking
HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)
Strengths
- Flat ₹20 cap
- SME IPOs
- ₹0 account opening
Worth checking
- AMC after year one
₹20 a month plus GST from the second year.
- Two MTF rates published
The pricing page says 1% a month and the support page says 15% a year. Confirm before you use margin funding.
- DP charge
₹20 per sale.
SAMCO
Strengths
- ₹20 cap
Worth checking
- Two delivery rates on one page
The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.
- AMC after year one
₹400 plus taxes a year.
- Dealer orders
₹50 plus taxes per order.
Brokerage calculator: HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) vs SAMCO
| Charge | HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) | SAMCO |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO would each charge.
Other comparisons
Every comparison with HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) or SAMCO?
Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs the same ₹47.20 in broker charges at both. For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) ₹47.20, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO be over a year?
Nothing on selling: 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹566.40 at both (our calculation). Compare the yearly AMC as well.
Can I apply for SME IPOs on HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO?
HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO?
HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.
What DP charge do HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) and SAMCO take when I sell IPO shares?
For one sale of ₹15,000, with GST: ₹23.60 at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky); ₹23.60 at SAMCO (our calculation). It is charged on each sale from your demat account.