GeojitSEBI INZ000318938
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- Not stated
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.30%
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours
ZerodhaSEBI INZ000031633
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹15.34Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Geojit and Zerodha differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Geojit | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹53.10 less at Zerodha; a DP charge is not published | ₹53.10 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹15.34 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹885.00 less at Zerodha; a DP charge is not published | ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹15.34 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹637.20 less at Zerodha; a DP charge is not published | ₹637.20 brokerage; DP charge not published | ₹184.08 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Geojit, Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus… at Zerodha.
- Equity delivery brokerage: 0.30% at Geojit, ₹0 at Zerodha.
- DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Geojit, ₹13 plus GST per scrip at Zerodha.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Geojit, Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and… at Zerodha.
The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.
Geojit vs Zerodha: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Geojit and Zerodha. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Geojit | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | Nil | ₹0 for individual accounts (₹500 for NRI, partnership, LLP and corporate accounts) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Not stated on the pages we checked | Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus GST, charged quarterly |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes | Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and no net banking fallback if the UPI payment fails |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | 0.30% | ₹0 |
| DP charge on selling shares | Not stated on the pages we checked | ₹13 plus GST per scrip (₹3.50 CDSL, ₹9.50 Zerodha); ₹15.34 with GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000318938 | INZ000031633 |
For other trading, futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Geojit and Zerodha pages.
Geojit and Zerodha strengths and things worth checking
Geojit
Strengths
- Full-service support
Worth checking
- Percentage brokerage on delivery
0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.
- AMC and DP charge not on the pricing page
Check them before you open an account.
Zerodha
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Lower DP charge
- SME IPOs on both exchanges
Worth checking
- AMC after the first year
₹300 a year plus GST for a regular demat account.
- SME IPO limits
One bid per SME IPO, and if the UPI payment fails you cannot apply by net banking.
- Dealer orders cost extra
₹50 per order through call and trade or auto square-off.
Brokerage calculator: Geojit vs Zerodha
| Charge | Geojit | Zerodha |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Geojit and Zerodha would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Zerodha
- Groww vs Zerodha
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Upstox vs Zerodha
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Zerodha
- Sahi vs Zerodha
Every comparison with Geojit or Zerodha, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Geojit or Zerodha?
Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹53.10 less at Zerodha (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Geojit ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, Zerodha ₹15.34 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Geojit and Zerodha be over a year?
Not in full, because Geojit does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹637.20 less at Zerodha (our calculation).
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Geojit and Zerodha?
Zerodha lets you apply for SME IPOs; Geojit does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Geojit and Zerodha?
Geojit: not stated. Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
What brokerage do Geojit and Zerodha charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹53.10 at Geojit and ₹0.00 at Zerodha (our calculation from their published rates).