Live ·

Geojit vs SAMCO for IPO investors

Geojit vs SAMCO for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹29.50 less at SAMCO (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GeojitSEBI INZ000318938

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.30%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 cap
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Geojit and SAMCO differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GeojitSAMCO
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹29.50 less at SAMCO; a DP charge is not published₹53.10 brokerage; DP charge not published₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹861.40 less at SAMCO; a DP charge is not published₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹354.00 less at SAMCO; a DP charge is not published₹637.20 brokerage; DP charge not published₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Geojit, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.30% at Geojit, ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO.
  • DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Geojit, ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.

The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Geojit vs SAMCO: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Geojit and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGeojitSAMCO
Open an account
Account openingNil₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)Not stated on the pages we checked₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYesYes
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.30%₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20)
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checked₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000318938INZ000002535

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Geojit and SAMCO pages.

Geojit and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking

Geojit

Strengths

  • Full-service support

Worth checking

  • Percentage brokerage on delivery

    0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • AMC and DP charge not on the pricing page

    Check them before you open an account.

More on Geojit

SAMCO

Strengths

  • ₹20 cap

Worth checking

  • Two delivery rates on one page

    The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.

  • AMC after year one

    ₹400 plus taxes a year.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹50 plus taxes per order.

More on SAMCO

Brokerage calculator: Geojit vs SAMCO

ChargeGeojitSAMCO

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Geojit and SAMCO would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Geojit or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Geojit or SAMCO?

Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹29.50 less at SAMCO (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Geojit ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Geojit and SAMCO be over a year?

Not in full, because Geojit does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹354.00 less at SAMCO (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Geojit and SAMCO?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

What is the demat AMC at Geojit and SAMCO?

Geojit: not stated. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

What brokerage do Geojit and SAMCO charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹53.10 at Geojit and ₹23.60 at SAMCO (our calculation from their published rates).