Live ·

Geojit vs ProStocks for IPO investors

Geojit vs ProStocks for IPO investors: 6 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹53.10 less at ProStocks (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

GeojitSEBI INZ000318938

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.30%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

ProStocksSEBI INZ000048660

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 (₹1,000 deposit)
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹0
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹23.60Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Geojit and ProStocks differ

6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)GeojitProStocks
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹53.10 less at ProStocks; a DP charge is not published₹53.10 brokerage; DP charge not published₹23.60
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹885.00 less at ProStocks; a DP charge is not published₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published₹23.60
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹637.20 less at ProStocks; a DP charge is not published₹637.20 brokerage; DP charge not published₹283.20

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Account opening: Nil at Geojit, No fee listed at ProStocks.
  • Demat maintenance (AMC): not stated at Geojit, None at ProStocks.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.30% at Geojit, ₹0 at ProStocks.
  • DP charge on selling shares: not stated at Geojit, ₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST at ProStocks.
  • Mainboard IPOs: Yes at Geojit, not stated at ProStocks.

The same at both: sME IPOs.

Geojit vs ProStocks: charges side by side

Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between Geojit and ProStocks. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeGeojitProStocks
Open an account
Account openingNilNo fee listed (online application)
Demat maintenance (AMC)Not stated on the pages we checkedNone; ₹1,000 refundable demat deposit
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYesNot stated on the pages we checked
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.30%₹0 (flat fee plan)
DP charge on selling sharesNot stated on the pages we checked₹20 per scrip plus 18% GST
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000318938INZ000048660

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Geojit and ProStocks pages.

Geojit and ProStocks strengths and things worth checking

Geojit

Strengths

  • Full-service support

Worth checking

  • Percentage brokerage on delivery

    0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • AMC and DP charge not on the pricing page

    Check them before you open an account.

More on Geojit

ProStocks

Strengths

  • ₹0 delivery brokerage
  • No AMC
  • Cheap dealer orders

Worth checking

  • Refundable deposit

    ₹1,000 demat deposit.

  • IPO access not stated

    The pricing page does not mention IPO applications.

More on ProStocks

Brokerage calculator: Geojit vs ProStocks

ChargeGeojitProStocks

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Geojit and ProStocks would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Geojit or ProStocks, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Geojit or ProStocks?

Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹53.10 less at ProStocks (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Geojit ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published, ProStocks ₹23.60 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Geojit and ProStocks be over a year?

Not in full, because Geojit does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹637.20 less at ProStocks (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Geojit and ProStocks?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

Is account opening free at Geojit and ProStocks?

Geojit: Nil. ProStocks: No fee listed.

What is the demat AMC at Geojit and ProStocks?

Geojit: not stated. ProStocks: None.