ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- 0.20% or ₹20, lower
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ZerodhaSEBI INZ000031633
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹15.34Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Choice and Zerodha differ
5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Choice | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹20.06 less at Zerodha | ₹35.40 | ₹15.34 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹20.06 less at Zerodha | ₹35.40 | ₹15.34 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹240.72 less at Zerodha | ₹424.80 | ₹184.08 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus… at Zerodha.
- Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, ₹0 at Zerodha.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, ₹13 plus GST per scrip at Zerodha.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Choice, Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and… at Zerodha.
The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.
Choice vs Zerodha: charges side by side
Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Choice and Zerodha. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Choice | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | Free | ₹0 for individual accounts (₹500 for NRI, partnership, LLP and corporate accounts) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year | Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus GST, charged quarterly |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Yes, free | Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and no net banking fallback if the UPI payment fails |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | 0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower) | ₹0 |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹10 plus GST per instruction | ₹13 plus GST per scrip (₹3.50 CDSL, ₹9.50 Zerodha); ₹15.34 with GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000160131 | INZ000031633 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and Zerodha pages.
Choice and Zerodha strengths and things worth checking
Choice
Strengths
- Low DP charge
- Low AMC
- Free auto square-off
Worth checking
- Page has conflicting figures
Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.
- MTF at 18%
Margin trading interest is 18% a year.
Zerodha
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Lower DP charge
- SME IPOs on both exchanges
Worth checking
- AMC after the first year
₹300 a year plus GST for a regular demat account.
- SME IPO limits
One bid per SME IPO, and if the UPI payment fails you cannot apply by net banking.
- Dealer orders cost extra
₹50 per order through call and trade or auto square-off.
Brokerage calculator: Choice vs Zerodha
| Charge | Choice | Zerodha |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and Zerodha would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Zerodha
- Groww vs Zerodha
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Upstox vs Zerodha
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Zerodha
- Sahi vs Zerodha
Every comparison with Choice or Zerodha, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or Zerodha?
Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹15.34 in broker charges at Zerodha and ₹35.40 at Choice (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, Zerodha ₹15.34 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Choice and Zerodha be over a year?
If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Zerodha costs ₹240.72 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year; Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and Zerodha?
Zerodha lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Choice and Zerodha?
Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
What brokerage do Choice and Zerodha charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹0.00 at Zerodha (our calculation from their published rates).