Live ·

Choice vs Jainam for IPO investors

Choice vs Jainam for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹44.84 at Jainam (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

JainamSEBI INZ000198735

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 (DIY) or 0.4%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹44.84Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and Jainam differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoiceJainam
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹9.44 less at Choice₹35.40₹44.84
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹9.44 less at Choice₹35.40₹44.84
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹113.28 less at Choice₹424.80₹538.08

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, not stated at Jainam.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, DIY: ₹20 per order at Jainam.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, DIY: ₹18 per scrip at Jainam.
  • Mainboard IPOs: Yes, free at Choice, not stated at Jainam.

The same at both: account opening and SME IPOs.

Choice vs Jainam: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Choice and Jainam. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoiceJainam
Open an account
Account openingFree₹0 online
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a yearNot stated on the pages we checked
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeNot stated on the pages we checked
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)DIY: ₹20 per order; Premium: 0.4%
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instructionDIY: ₹18 per scrip; Premium: ₹25 per request plus GST
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000198735

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and Jainam pages.

Choice and Jainam strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

Jainam

Strengths

  • Two plans

Worth checking

  • Premium delivery is 0.4%

    ₹60 on a ₹15,000 sale on the Premium plan. Our calculator uses the DIY plan.

  • DIY dealer orders cost ₹70

    Plus ₹20 brokerage and GST.

More on Jainam

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs Jainam

ChargeChoiceJainam

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and Jainam would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or Jainam, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or Jainam?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹44.84 at Jainam (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, Jainam ₹44.84 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and Jainam be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Choice costs ₹113.28 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year; Jainam: not stated.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and Jainam?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and Jainam?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. Jainam: not stated.

What brokerage do Choice and Jainam charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹23.60 at Jainam (our calculation from their published rates).