Live ·

Choice vs IIFL Capital for IPO investors

Choice vs IIFL Capital for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹73.75 at IIFL Capital (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

IIFL CapitalSEBI INZ000164132

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹250/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.25%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹73.75Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and IIFL Capital differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoiceIIFL Capital
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹38.35 less at Choice₹35.40₹73.75
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹731.60 less at Choice₹35.40₹767.00
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹460.20 less at Choice₹424.80₹885.00

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹250 plus GST a year at IIFL Capital.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, 0.25% at IIFL Capital.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, ₹25 plus GST per scrip at IIFL Capital.

The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Choice vs IIFL Capital: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Choice and IIFL Capital. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoiceIIFL Capital
Open an account
Account openingFree₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year₹0 in the first year, then ₹250 plus GST a year
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)0.25%
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instruction₹25 plus GST per scrip
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000164132

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and IIFL Capital pages.

Choice and IIFL Capital strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

IIFL Capital

Strengths

  • Full-service support
  • Lower AMC

Worth checking

  • Percentage brokerage on delivery

    0.25% with no cap: ₹37.50 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • DP charge

    ₹25 plus GST per sale.

  • System square-off

    ₹100 per order.

More on IIFL Capital

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs IIFL Capital

ChargeChoiceIIFL Capital

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and IIFL Capital would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or IIFL Capital, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or IIFL Capital?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹73.75 at IIFL Capital (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, IIFL Capital ₹767.00 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and IIFL Capital be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Choice costs ₹460.20 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year; IIFL Capital: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹250 plus GST a year.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and IIFL Capital?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and IIFL Capital?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. IIFL Capital: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹250 plus GST a year.

What brokerage do Choice and IIFL Capital charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹44.25 at IIFL Capital (our calculation from their published rates).