Live ·

Choice vs HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) for IPO investors

Choice vs HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹47.20 at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) (our calculation). HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)SEBI INZ000186937

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹240/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 2.5%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoiceHDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹11.80 less at Choice₹35.40₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹11.80 less at Choice₹35.40₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹141.60 less at Choice₹424.80₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky).
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, ₹20 or 2.5% per order, whichever is lower at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky).
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, ₹20 per scrip at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky).
  • SME IPOs: not stated at Choice, Yes. HDFC Sky says you can apply for SME IPOs in one click at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky).

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

Choice vs HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky). Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoiceHDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)
Open an account
Account openingFreeFree
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST (basic services demat accounts under ₹50,000: ₹0)
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes, on HDFC Sky
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedYes. HDFC Sky says you can apply for SME IPOs in one click
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)₹20 or 2.5% per order, whichever is lower
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instruction₹20 per scrip (the support page does not say whether GST is extra; we add 18% in our calculation)
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000186937

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) pages.

Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

Strengths

  • Flat ₹20 cap
  • SME IPOs
  • ₹0 account opening

Worth checking

  • AMC after year one

    ₹20 a month plus GST from the second year.

  • Two MTF rates published

    The pricing page says 1% a month and the support page says 15% a year. Confirm before you use margin funding.

  • DP charge

    ₹20 per sale.

More on HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

ChargeChoiceHDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky), or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹35.40 in broker charges at Choice and ₹47.20 at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Choice costs ₹141.60 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year; HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)?

HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) lets you apply for SME IPOs; Choice does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky)?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky): ₹0 for the first year, then ₹20 a month plus GST.

What brokerage do Choice and HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹23.60 at HDFC Securities (HDFC Sky) (our calculation from their published rates).