Live ·

Choice vs Geojit for IPO investors

Choice vs Geojit for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹29.50 less at Choice (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

ChoiceSEBI INZ000160131

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹200/yr + GST
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.20% or ₹20, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

GeojitSEBI INZ000318938

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
Not stated
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
0.30%
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
Not publishedBrokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Choice and Geojit differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)ChoiceGeojit
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000Brokerage ₹29.50 less at Choice; a DP charge is not published₹35.40₹53.10 brokerage; DP charge not published
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000Brokerage ₹861.40 less at Choice; a DP charge is not published₹35.40₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published
A year: 12 mainboard lots soldBrokerage ₹354.00 less at Choice; a DP charge is not published₹424.80₹637.20 brokerage; DP charge not published

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year at Choice, not stated at Geojit.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: 0.20% at Choice, 0.30% at Geojit.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹10 plus GST per instruction at Choice, not stated at Geojit.

The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Choice vs Geojit: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Choice and Geojit. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeChoiceGeojit
Open an account
Account openingFreeNil
Demat maintenance (AMC)Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a yearNot stated on the pages we checked
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, freeYes
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage0.20% (the FAQ says 0.20% or ₹20, whichever is lower)0.30%
DP charge on selling shares₹10 plus GST per instructionNot stated on the pages we checked
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000160131INZ000318938

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Choice and Geojit pages.

Choice and Geojit strengths and things worth checking

Choice

Strengths

  • Low DP charge
  • Low AMC
  • Free auto square-off

Worth checking

  • Page has conflicting figures

    Options brokerage and pledge charges differ between the table and the text. Confirm with Choice.

  • MTF at 18%

    Margin trading interest is 18% a year.

More on Choice

Geojit

Strengths

  • Full-service support

Worth checking

  • Percentage brokerage on delivery

    0.30% with no cap: ₹45 on a ₹15,000 sale.

  • AMC and DP charge not on the pricing page

    Check them before you open an account.

More on Geojit

Brokerage calculator: Choice vs Geojit

ChargeChoiceGeojit

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Choice and Geojit would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Choice or Geojit, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Choice or Geojit?

Geojit does not publish its DP charge, so the full cost of selling IPO shares cannot be compared. On brokerage alone, one mainboard lot (₹15,000) costs ₹29.50 less at Choice (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Choice ₹35.40, Geojit ₹885.00 brokerage; DP charge not published (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Choice and Geojit be over a year?

Not in full, because Geojit does not publish its DP charge. On brokerage alone, 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 cost ₹354.00 less at Choice (our calculation).

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Choice and Geojit?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

What is the demat AMC at Choice and Geojit?

Choice: Free in the first year, then ₹200 plus GST a year. Geojit: not stated.

What brokerage do Choice and Geojit charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Choice and ₹53.10 at Geojit (our calculation from their published rates).