Bigul (Bonanza)SEBI INZ000212137
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹250/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Not stated
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹18/order
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹35.40Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
ZerodhaSEBI INZ000031633
- Account opening
- ₹0
- Demat AMC
- ₹0 year 1, then ₹300/yr + GST
- SME IPOs
- Yes
- Delivery brokerage
- ₹0
- Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
- ₹15.34Brokerage and DP with GST, ours
Where Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha differ
6 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.
| Cost to sell IPO shares (ours) | Bigul (Bonanza) | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹20.06 less at Zerodha | ₹35.40 | ₹15.34 |
| Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹20.06 less at Zerodha | ₹35.40 | ₹15.34 |
| A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹240.72 less at Zerodha | ₹424.80 | ₹184.08 |
Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.
- Demat maintenance (AMC): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST at Bigul (Bonanza), Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus… at Zerodha.
- Equity delivery brokerage: ₹18 per order at Bigul (Bonanza), ₹0 at Zerodha.
- DP charge on selling shares: ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST at Bigul (Bonanza), ₹13 plus GST per scrip at Zerodha.
- Mainboard IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate at Zerodha.
- SME IPOs: not stated at Bigul (Bonanza), Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and… at Zerodha.
The same at both: account opening.
Bigul (Bonanza) vs Zerodha: charges side by side
Differs 6 of 7 charges differ between Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | Zerodha |
|---|---|---|
| Open an account | ||
| Account opening | ₹0 | ₹0 for individual accounts (₹500 for NRI, partnership, LLP and corporate accounts) |
| Demat maintenance (AMC) | Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST; basic services demat accounts: ₹0 up to ₹4 lakh | Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus GST, charged quarterly |
| Apply for IPOs | ||
| Mainboard IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, through Kite or Console with a UPI mandate |
| SME IPOs | Not stated on the pages we checked | Yes, NSE and BSE SME IPOs through UPI. Only one bid per SME IPO, and no net banking fallback if the UPI payment fails |
| Sell your IPO shares | ||
| Equity delivery brokerage | ₹18 per order | ₹0 |
| DP charge on selling shares | ₹14.16 per scrip including depository charges and GST | ₹13 plus GST per scrip (₹3.50 CDSL, ₹9.50 Zerodha); ₹15.34 with GST |
| Registration | ||
| SEBI registration | INZ000212137 | INZ000031633 |
For other trading, equity intraday, Futures, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha pages.
Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha strengths and things worth checking
Bigul (Bonanza)
Strengths
- Flat ₹18
- DP charge with GST shown
Worth checking
- Pledge charge
₹118 per ISIN per request.
- IPO access not stated
The pricing page does not mention IPOs.
Zerodha
Strengths
- ₹0 brokerage on delivery
- Lower DP charge
- SME IPOs on both exchanges
Worth checking
- AMC after the first year
₹300 a year plus GST for a regular demat account.
- SME IPO limits
One bid per SME IPO, and if the UPI payment fails you cannot apply by net banking.
- Dealer orders cost extra
₹50 per order through call and trade or auto square-off.
Brokerage calculator: Bigul (Bonanza) vs Zerodha
| Charge | Bigul (Bonanza) | Zerodha |
|---|
Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha would each charge.
Other comparisons
- Angel One vs Zerodha
- Groww vs Zerodha
- ICICI Direct vs Zerodha
- Upstox vs Zerodha
- PhonePe Invest (Share.Market) vs Zerodha
- Sahi vs Zerodha
Every comparison with Bigul (Bonanza) or Zerodha, or pick any two brokers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Bigul (Bonanza) or Zerodha?
Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹15.34 in broker charges at Zerodha and ₹35.40 at Bigul (Bonanza) (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Bigul (Bonanza) ₹35.40, Zerodha ₹15.34 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).
How much would the difference between Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha be over a year?
If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Zerodha costs ₹240.72 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Bigul (Bonanza): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST; Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
Can I apply for SME IPOs on Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha?
Zerodha lets you apply for SME IPOs; Bigul (Bonanza) does not say so on the pages we checked.
What is the demat AMC at Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha?
Bigul (Bonanza): Free in the first year, then ₹250 a year plus GST. Zerodha: Free in the first year for resident individuals, then ₹300 a year plus….
What brokerage do Bigul (Bonanza) and Zerodha charge when I sell IPO shares?
Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹21.24 at Bigul (Bonanza) and ₹0.00 at Zerodha (our calculation from their published rates).