Live ·

Alice Blue vs SAMCO for IPO investors

Alice Blue vs SAMCO for IPO investors: 4 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹41.30 in broker charges at Alice Blue and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

Alice BlueSEBI INZ000156038

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 or 2.5%, lower
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹41.30Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 cap
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where Alice Blue and SAMCO differ

4 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)Alice BlueSAMCO
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹5.90 less at Alice Blue₹41.30₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹5.90 less at Alice Blue₹41.30₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹70.80 less at Alice Blue₹495.60₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹0 for life on the current plan at Alice Blue, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 or 2.5 per executed order, whichever is lower, as shown on the… at Alice Blue, ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹15 plus GST per scrip, on sales only at Alice Blue, ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.

The same at both: account opening, Mainboard IPOs and SME IPOs.

Alice Blue vs SAMCO: charges side by side

Differs 4 of 7 charges differ between Alice Blue and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

ChargeAlice BlueSAMCO
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹0 for life on the current plan₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, with ₹0 brokerageYes
SME IPOsNot stated on the pages we checkedNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 or 2.5 per executed order, whichever is lower, as shown on the pricing page₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20)
DP charge on selling shares₹15 plus GST per scrip, on sales only₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000156038INZ000002535

For other trading, equity intraday, Futures and Call and trade differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the Alice Blue and SAMCO pages.

Alice Blue and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking

Alice Blue

Strengths

  • ₹0 AMC for life
  • IPO applications free

Worth checking

  • Brokerage on delivery

    Up to ₹20 per order.

  • DP charge

    ₹15 plus GST per sale.

More on Alice Blue

SAMCO

Strengths

  • ₹20 cap

Worth checking

  • Two delivery rates on one page

    The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.

  • AMC after year one

    ₹400 plus taxes a year.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹50 plus taxes per order.

More on SAMCO

Brokerage calculator: Alice Blue vs SAMCO

ChargeAlice BlueSAMCO

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what Alice Blue and SAMCO would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with Alice Blue or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, Alice Blue or SAMCO?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹41.30 in broker charges at Alice Blue and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: Alice Blue ₹41.30, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between Alice Blue and SAMCO be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, Alice Blue costs ₹70.80 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: Alice Blue: ₹0 for life on the current plan; SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on Alice Blue and SAMCO?

Neither says clearly on its pages that SME IPOs can be applied for.

What is the demat AMC at Alice Blue and SAMCO?

Alice Blue: ₹0 for life on the current plan. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

What brokerage do Alice Blue and SAMCO charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at Alice Blue and ₹23.60 at SAMCO (our calculation from their published rates).