Live ·

5paisa vs SAMCO for IPO investors

5paisa vs SAMCO for IPO investors: 5 of the 7 charges we compare differ. Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹38.94 in broker charges at 5paisa and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). 5paisa lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked. All figures are from each broker's own website, read 23 Oct 2026.

By IPO24by7 Research. Updated .

5paisaSEBI INZ000010231

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹25/month + GST
SME IPOs
Yes
Delivery brokerage
₹20/order
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹38.94Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

SAMCOSEBI INZ000002535

Account opening
₹0
Demat AMC
₹0 year 1, then ₹400/yr + taxes
SME IPOs
Not stated
Delivery brokerage
₹20 cap
Cost to sell ₹15,000 of IPO shares
₹47.20Brokerage and DP with GST, ours

Where 5paisa and SAMCO differ

5 of the 7 charges we compare differ for an IPO investor.

Cost to sell IPO shares (ours)5paisaSAMCO
One mainboard lot, ₹15,000₹8.26 less at 5paisa₹38.94₹47.20
Two SME lots, ₹2,50,000₹8.26 less at 5paisa₹38.94₹47.20
A year: 12 mainboard lots sold₹99.12 less at 5paisa₹467.28₹566.40

Ours: brokerage and DP charge with 18% GST. STT and exchange charges are equal everywhere, so they are left out. SME bids are two lots.

  • Demat maintenance (AMC): ₹25 a month plus GST, as listed on the pricing page at 5paisa, ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals at SAMCO.
  • Equity delivery brokerage: ₹20 per executed order at 5paisa, ₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower at SAMCO.
  • DP charge on selling shares: ₹15.34 per scrip per day at 5paisa, ₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO at SAMCO.
  • SME IPOs: Yes, SME IPOs are listed with an apply option at 5paisa, not stated at SAMCO.

The same at both: account opening and Mainboard IPOs.

5paisa vs SAMCO: charges side by side

Differs 5 of 7 charges differ between 5paisa and SAMCO. Same charges are greyed. ₹0 free Not stated not on the broker's pages

Charge5paisaSAMCO
Open an account
Account opening₹0₹0
Demat maintenance (AMC)₹25 a month plus GST, as listed on the pricing page₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals
Apply for IPOs
Mainboard IPOsYes, in the current IPO sectionYes
SME IPOsYes, SME IPOs are listed with an apply optionNot stated on the pages we checked
Sell your IPO shares
Equity delivery brokerage₹20 per executed order₹20 per executed order or 2.5%, whichever is lower (the headline says 0.25% or ₹20)
DP charge on selling shares₹15.34 per scrip per day₹20 plus taxes within SAMCO; ₹25 or 0.02%, whichever is higher, plus taxes outside
Registration
SEBI registrationINZ000010231INZ000002535

For other trading, equity intraday, Call and trade and Margin trading (MTF) interest differ too. Intraday, futures, call and trade and margin charges are on the 5paisa and SAMCO pages.

5paisa and SAMCO strengths and things worth checking

5paisa

Strengths

  • Cheaper dealer orders
  • ₹0 pledge
  • SME IPOs

Worth checking

  • Two pages, two headline prices

    The brokerage charges page shows ₹0 "for all trades" while the pricing page lists ₹20 per order. Confirm which applies before you open an account.

  • AMC

    ₹25 a month plus GST as listed.

  • Flat ₹20 on delivery

    Even small IPO share sales pay ₹20 brokerage.

More on 5paisa

SAMCO

Strengths

  • ₹20 cap

Worth checking

  • Two delivery rates on one page

    The headline says 0.25% or ₹20 and the table says 2.5% or ₹20. Both cap at ₹20.

  • AMC after year one

    ₹400 plus taxes a year.

  • Dealer orders

    ₹50 plus taxes per order.

More on SAMCO

Brokerage calculator: 5paisa vs SAMCO

Charge5paisaSAMCO

Ours, with NSE rates. Change the trade to see what 5paisa and SAMCO would each charge.

Other comparisons

Every comparison with 5paisa or SAMCO, or pick any two brokers.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper for selling IPO shares, 5paisa or SAMCO?

Selling one mainboard lot of IPO shares (₹15,000) costs ₹38.94 in broker charges at 5paisa and ₹47.20 at SAMCO (our calculation). For two SME lots worth ₹2,50,000: 5paisa ₹38.94, SAMCO ₹47.20 (our calculation, brokerage and DP charge with GST).

How much would the difference between 5paisa and SAMCO be over a year?

If you sell 12 mainboard lots of ₹15,000 in a year, 5paisa costs ₹99.12 less in broker charges (our calculation). Add the yearly AMC: 5paisa: ₹25 a month plus GST, as listed on the pricing page; SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

Can I apply for SME IPOs on 5paisa and SAMCO?

5paisa lets you apply for SME IPOs; SAMCO does not say so on the pages we checked.

What is the demat AMC at 5paisa and SAMCO?

5paisa: ₹25 a month plus GST, as listed on the pricing page. SAMCO: ₹0 in the first year, then ₹400 plus taxes a year for individuals.

What brokerage do 5paisa and SAMCO charge when I sell IPO shares?

Selling allotted shares is a delivery trade. On a ₹15,000 sale the brokerage with GST is ₹23.60 at 5paisa and ₹23.60 at SAMCO (our calculation from their published rates).